---
title: "What Is a Good Cost Per Booked Call? Working It Out From Real Denominators | Stone Haven Capital Group"
description: "A good cost per booked call is the one that survives your show rate, your close rate and your deal size. Here is the arithmetic, the benchmark ranges by buyer seniority, and the denominators behind 70 to 80 booked calls a week."
canonical: "https://stonehaven.capital/blog/what-is-a-good-cost-per-booked-call"
last-updated: "2026-08-30"
---

> A good cost per booked call is the one that survives your show rate, your close rate and your deal size. Here is the arithmetic, the benchmark ranges by buyer seniority, and the denominators behind 70 to 80 booked calls a week.

Stone Haven Capital Group

Schedule a Call

[All articles](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/)

Guide

# What Is a Good Cost Per Booked Call? Working It Out From Real Denominators

August 30, 202613 min read

What Is a Good Cost Per Booked Call? Working It Out From Real Denominators

A good cost per booked call is between $150 and $400 for SMB buyers, $300 to $600 for mid-market, and $600 to $1,500 for C-suite and enterprise targets, according to appointment-setting pricing published across the category this year. Those ranges are close to useless on their own, because a booked call is not a unit of anything until you know how many get held and how many turn into signed business.

Those ranges rank nothing by themselves. A $180 meeting sourced from junior titles that shows at 55% and closes at 3% costs roughly four times more per closed deal than a $520 meeting closing at 25%. Price only becomes comparable after show rate and close rate are applied to it.

The arithmetic below takes your own spend through both, and tests any quote you receive against the only benchmark that survives contact with a P&L, which is your average deal size.

StoneHaven sustains 70 to 80 booked sales calls a week on its core email model, and closes 25 to 30% of the opportunities those calls produce.

## What a good cost per booked call actually measures

Cost per booked call is total acquisition spend on a channel divided by the number of calendar-confirmed conversations that channel produced with a buyer who can sign or sponsor a purchase. Spend on top, meetings on the bottom. Everything difficult about the metric lives in what you allow into each half.

The top half is where most calculations quietly cheat. A retainer is obvious. Sending infrastructure, data and enrichment, the sales engineer who joins discovery calls, and the fraction of an AE's month spent on no-shows are less obvious and belong in the number anyway. A provider quoting you a per-appointment fee is quoting one line of your cost, and the difference between that line and your fully loaded figure is routinely two to three times.

The bottom half is where definitions drift. A booked call is a confirmed slot on a calendar with a named person at a named account. It is not a reply, not a hand-raise, not a downloaded PDF, and not a "qualified lead" as defined by whoever is invoicing you. Reply rate is a leading indicator and belongs on its own row, which we set out in our [reply and bounce benchmarks with the denominators attached](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/cold-email-reply-bounce-benchmarks-with-denominators/).

Two providers can quote the same $400 and mean entirely different things, because one counts every accepted invite and the other counts only calls held with a decision-maker. Fix the definition before you compare the prices, and write it into the contract.

## The formula, step by step

Cost per booked call is one division. The number that predicts revenue takes three.

Step one: total fully loaded monthly spend. Retainer or SDR salaries and benefits, sending infrastructure, data and enrichment, any per-appointment fee, and the tooling that exists only to support the channel. Use a single month rather than a quarter, so the figure reacts when something changes.

Step two: count booked calls in that same month. Calendar-confirmed, decision-maker, named account. Count the booking in the month it was booked rather than the month it was held, and keep that convention forever.

Step three: divide. $18,000 of spend over 45 booked calls is $400 a booked call. This is the headline number, and by itself it decides nothing.

Step four: divide by show rate to get cost per held call. At 70% show, that $400 booked call is a $571 held call.

Show rate is the cheapest variable on this list to fix. A confirmation page and reminders at 24 hours, 1 hour and 15 minutes moves show rate above 90% against an industry norm closer to 60%, which knocks roughly a third off cost per held call without touching the price you pay.

Step five: divide by close rate to get cost per closed deal. At a 20% close rate off held calls, the $571 held call becomes $2,855 of acquisition cost per customer.

Step six: test that against deal size. Divide first-year contract value by cost per closed deal. Under 3x the channel is fragile and any dip in close rate puts it underwater. Above 5x it funds its own expansion out of the revenue it creates.

| Stage | Divisor | Running figure |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly spend | - | $18,000 |
| Booked calls | 45 | $400 per booked call |
| Show rate | 70% | $571 per held call |
| Close rate | 20% | $2,855 per closed deal |
| ACV test | $24,000 ACV | 8.4x return per closed deal |

Change show rate to 90% and close rate to 25% at the same $400 price and cost per closed deal falls to $1,778. Neither improvement is a discount. Both come from qualification and follow-through, and both are worth more than any negotiation you will win on the retainer.

Across StoneHaven's published programs, isolated outbound infrastructure held 98% inbox placement at 100,000-plus emails a month with bounce between 1% and 3%, producing pipeline outcomes from $4M to $54M per program.

## Why the call-center version of this number is a different metric entirely

Search for cost per call and most of what comes back is contact-center arithmetic: total support operating cost divided by inbound contacts handled, benchmarked in single-digit dollars, and improved by making the number go down. It is a legitimate metric and it has nothing to do with this one.

The two run in opposite directions. In a support center, cost per call is an efficiency measure, and the operational goal is to serve the same volume for less. In outbound, cost per booked call is an acquisition measure, and the cheapest number in a comparison set is often the worst outcome, because price and buyer seniority move together. A $150 meeting is usually a meeting with someone who cannot sign.

One shared idea does carry across: neither number means anything without its denominator. A support team reporting $6 per call is reporting a ratio whose bottom half is contacts handled. An outbound provider reporting $300 per meeting owes you the same disclosure, which is how many meetings, over what period, from what volume, at what show rate.

## What providers publish, and the piece that is missing

Category pricing is public enough to compare. The gap is what sits underneath it.

| Provider | What is published on cost | What is missing |
|---|---|---|
| SalesHive | Pay-per-meeting guidance of roughly $300 to $600 per qualified B2B appointment, with a stated range from $100 to $1,500 by deal complexity | No show rate or close rate attached to the meetings inside that range |
| Leadium | Appointment-setting pricing framed by seniority tier, with SMB at the low end and C-suite meetings at $600 to $1,500 | Seniority is priced, but the conversion of each tier is not stated |
| StoneHaven | Nothing. Pricing is scoped to the program and quoted on a call | Program denominators are published instead: 70 to 80 booked calls a week, 25 to 30% close rate, 18 anonymized programs from $4M to $54M in pipeline |

A price per meeting with no show rate, no close rate and no per-month volume behind it is a quote rather than a benchmark. Ask every provider on your shortlist for booked calls per month on a live program, the send volume that produced them, and the close rate the client recorded. An operator answers from a dashboard in a minute.

For the deeper version of that interrogation, including the infrastructure questions that decide whether the meetings arrive at all, see our guide to [what you are actually buying from a cold email agency](https://stonehaven.capital/alternative/cold-email-agency-what-youre-buying/).

## The denominators behind a real booked-call rate

Booked calls come out of a funnel with four multiplications in it, and cost per booked call is set by all four rather than by the price at the top.

Our own outbound engine books 70 to 80 sales calls a week, sustained, on the core email model.

In one month it booked 532 sales calls with Series A-C decision-makers, and those calls closed $379,000 in new revenue. A separate 25-day window produced 445 booked calls.

Five internal salespeople sit 5 to 10 of those calls a day each and close 25 to 30% of the opportunities.

On the sending side, the campaign numbers are denominated too. A single 10-day run of 183,524 cold emails held an 11.94% reply rate with 46% of replies flagged interested and 2.82% bounce.

A separate workspace sent 231,347 emails to 77,115 leads at 4.96% reply and 0.97% bounce.

Across every campaign we run, bounce stays between 1% and 3% and unsubscribes between 0% and 0.24%.

Volume is the least interesting variable in that set. Bounce, placement and positive-reply share decide how much of the volume reaches a human, and those inputs move cost per booked call by multiples rather than by percentages.

## Two programs, worked end to end

Benchmarks generalize. Programs do not. Two anonymized builds show how far the same metric can travel on the same channel.

A mid-market B2B SaaS company, $24,000 average contract value. The starting position was 8,000 emails a month from a single corporate inbox at a 1.1% reply rate, producing 3 to 4 meetings a month while the corporate domain drifted into spam folders.

Rebuilt to 120,000 emails a month across 25 isolated domains and 600 inboxes across three infrastructure types.

The program held 98% inbox placement from the first send, spam under 0.3% and bounce between 1% and 3%.

Steady state, per month:

| Funnel stage | Figure |
|---|---|
| Emails sent | 120,000 |
| Replies | 3,000 (2.5%) |
| Positive replies | 360 (12% of replies) |
| Booked meetings | 72 (20% of positives) |
| Held calls at 70% show | about 50 |
| New customers at 14% close | about 7 |

Over six months the program ran 720,000 emails, 18,000 replies, 432 qualified meetings and roughly 42 customers at $24,000 ACV, for more than $1M in new ARR.

It takes about 1,667 sends to produce one booked meeting, 2,400 sends to produce one held meeting, and roughly 17,100 sends to produce one customer. The 3 to 4 meetings a month the build replaced would never have got there at any price, because the ceiling was infrastructure rather than budget.

A precision-agriculture SaaS platform selling to cooperatives and distributors. 120 domains and 360 mailboxes, bounce at 0.8%, an 18,000-account ICP map and 64,000 enriched decision-makers.

Roughly 380,000 emails produced a 5.6% reply rate, about 4,300 positive replies, 2,150 booked meetings and 165-plus qualified cooperative and distributor accounts inside 90 days.

Average contract value moved from $350,000 to $1.09M, and the program tracked more than $36M in commercial pipeline.

That program books a meeting every 177 sends against one every 1,667 on the SaaS build, and the agriculture program sent three times as much. The difference is a sharply defined account map and an offer a cooperative buyer recognized in the first line. Cost per booked call follows offer quality more closely than anything a procurement conversation can influence.

## The four things that move this number more than price

List quality. An unverified B2B list bounces at 15 to 20% against roughly 1% for a verified one, and catch-all domains make up 20 to 30% of a typical list. Every bounced send is spend with no chance of a meeting attached.

Offer, expressed as money in the first line. The two programs above differ by 9x on sends per meeting, and the mechanism is that one opener pointed at a specific revenue outcome for a specific buyer and the other did not.

Follow-up depth. Between 50 and 70% of booked meetings come from follow-up steps two through four, and most senders stop at step two. A program that stops early pays full infrastructure cost for roughly half the meetings it could book.

Show rate. Moving from a 60% norm to 90%-plus with a confirmation page and three reminders cuts cost per held call by a third and costs nothing but sequencing discipline.

Notice what is absent. Sequencer choice does not appear, because the sequencer does not affect deliverability. Subject lines do not appear either. We tested 1,142 of them in a year against replies rather than opens, and the gap between the best and the average subject line is far smaller than the category assumes. A subject line filters, it does not convert.

## Benchmarks by deal size, which is the only cut that holds

Seniority-based pricing is how the category quotes. Deal size is how a buyer should read it. The table below pairs the two, using the published 2026 ranges and applying a 75% show rate and the close rate typical of that tier.

| Buyer tier | Published cost per booked call | Cost per held call at 75% show | Deal size that supports it |
|---|---|---|---|
| SMB | $150 to $400 | $200 to $533 | $10,000-plus first-year value |
| Mid-market | $300 to $600 | $400 to $800 | $25,000-plus first-year value |
| Enterprise / C-suite | $600 to $1,500 | $800 to $2,000 | $100,000-plus first-year value |

The test to apply is a single ratio: cost per closed deal should sit under a third of gross profit on the average deal, and comfortably under a fifth if you want the channel to compound. Above that threshold the program can still work, but it stops funding its own growth and starts competing with everything else in the budget.

An enterprise program at $1,200 a booked call looks expensive next to an SMB program at $200, and at a $1.09M average contract value the enterprise number is roughly 40 times cheaper per dollar of pipeline. Rank on the ratio, never on the sticker.

If the comparison you are running is outsourced outbound against building the function internally, the ramp and fixed-cost math changes the answer again, and we set that out in [outsourced SDR versus in-house](https://stonehaven.capital/alternative/outsourced-sdr-vs-in-house/).

## How to audit a cost-per-booked-call quote in ten minutes

Four questions, asked of every provider on the shortlist, in this order.

What counts as a booked call, in writing? Put the decision-maker definition and the no-show and reschedule treatment into the contract itself.

What show rate do your booked calls hold over the last 90 days? Paid-per-booking providers protect it only when it is a contract term.

What close rate did your last three clients record? Nobody owns that number except the client, so a provider who never asked was never measured.

What send volume produced those meetings, and what bounce did it hold? The answer requires a dashboard, which is what separates operators from resellers.

Best for: B2B SaaS, services, cybersecurity, industrial and manufacturing firms with mid-five-figure-plus deal sizes selling into founders, VPs of Sales, CROs and enterprise program owners.

A good cost per booked call is whichever number leaves your cost per closed deal under a fifth of the gross profit it produces. Work it out from your own show rate and your own close rate, and the market averages become what they always were, which is background noise.

## FAQ

What is a good cost per booked call in B2B?

Any number under 20% of your average deal size once show rate and close rate are applied to it.

Published ranges: roughly $150 to $400 per SMB meeting, $300 to $600 mid-market, $600 to $1,500 or more for C-suite and enterprise.

How do you calculate cost per booked call?

Total the fully loaded monthly spend on the channel, divide by calendar-confirmed calls booked in the same month, then divide again by show rate and by close rate. The first division gives the headline number. The two after it give the number that predicts revenue.

Is cost per booked call the same as cost per call in a call center?

No. Call-center cost per call divides support operating cost by inbound contacts handled, and a good result is a lower number. Outbound cost per booked call divides acquisition spend by meetings with buyers, and the lowest number in the market is frequently the worst investment, because a cheap meeting with the wrong title closes at a fraction of the rate.

How many cold emails does it take to book one call?

About 1,667 sends per booked meeting on the mid-market SaaS program, and 177 on the precision-agriculture program. The spread is offer and list quality.

Should I pay per meeting or pay a monthly retainer for outbound?

Pay per meeting when you cannot verify a provider's denominators. Take a retainer from one that publishes booked calls per month, send volume and bounce.

What cost per booked call is too expensive?

Any cost per booked call above roughly a third of gross profit on the average deal, after show rate and close rate are applied. On a $24,000 average contract value and a 14% close rate off held calls, a $600 booked call becomes about $6,100 in acquisition cost per customer, which is a payback problem rather than a pricing problem.

## Methodology

First-party figures in this article come from our campaign dashboards and internal booked-pipeline records covering 2025 and 2026, and from the 18 anonymized programs published on stonehaven.capital. Campaign metrics are cited as single verifiable runs with their send counts attached and are never summed across dashboard panels, because panels overlap. Open rates are not tracked and are not reported anywhere in this article, since tracking pixels harm deliverability. Program pipeline figures belong to the client and represent tracked or influenced pipeline rather than our revenue.

Category pricing ranges are drawn from 2026 appointment-setting and cold-email pricing guides published by [SalesHive](https://saleshive.com/blog/pay-per-meeting-models-best-practices-deals), [Leadium](https://www.leadium.com/blog/appointment-setting-services) and other providers in the category, and are self-reported by those vendors. Buying-behaviour context draws on [Gartner's B2B buying journey research](https://www.gartner.com/en/sales/topics/b2b-buying-journey) and [HubSpot's sales statistics compilation](https://blog.hubspot.com/sales/sales-statistics). Industry benchmark ranges for reply rates, bounce rates and follow-up contribution are corroborated across multiple public sources and are stated as ranges rather than as our own figures.

Limitations: first-party figures are self-reported and not independently audited. Program funnels are anonymized by industry, so buyer seniority and sales-cycle length vary between them. Worked examples in the arithmetic sections use round inputs for legibility and are not drawn from any single client account. We do not publish rates, so no cost per booked call of ours appears here.

Last updated: August 2026.

Written by Sabo Nagy, Founder & CEO at StoneHaven. He has sent millions of cold emails and built the outbound engines behind $1M-plus new-ARR programs, with a focus on cold-email strategy, positioning and the economics of booked pipeline. [Author page](https://stonehaven.capital/author/sabo-nagy) - [X](https://x.com/MrColdEmail)

## Want this running for you?

Book a consultation call and we'll show you exactly how we'd build your pipeline - live in 72 hours.

Schedule a consultation call

## More from the blog

[Guide](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/how-many-meetings-does-outbound-book-per-month/)

### [How Many Meetings Does Outbound Book Per Month? The Volume Math Behind the Number](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/how-many-meetings-does-outbound-book-per-month/)

[A fully ramped outbound SDR books 12 to 15 meetings a month. A program running 100,000 cold emails a month books 40 to 160. Here is the volume math behind both numbers, with the send counts, reply rates and show rates attached.](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/how-many-meetings-does-outbound-book-per-month/)

[August 30, 2026](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/how-many-meetings-does-outbound-book-per-month/)[16 min read](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/how-many-meetings-does-outbound-book-per-month/)

[Comparison](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/outsourced-sdr-vs-in-house/)

### [Outsourced SDR vs In-House: The Cost Line Everyone Gets Wrong](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/outsourced-sdr-vs-in-house/)

[Outsourced SDR runs $3,000-$14,000/mo vs $125K-$162K/yr in-house. The real cost line is isolated sending infrastructure. StoneHaven booked 445 calls in 25 days.](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/outsourced-sdr-vs-in-house/)

[Jul 18, 2026](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/outsourced-sdr-vs-in-house/)[13 min read](https://stonehaven.capital/blog/outsourced-sdr-vs-in-house/)
